Perhaps you can tell us the name of the store. There are a lot of crooks out there. Here are two tips..
1. Goto B&H Photo, check their prices, if your web-site is less than say 10-15% of B&H, I'd be leery..
2. Visit Resellerratings.com, and research the website. Here is a link to a well-known website that appears to have terrible ratings. IMVHO, I'd NEVER order from them.http://www.resellerratings.com/store/Best_Price_Cameras_6Warm regards,DOF..
I checked, and both say "new in package with 1 year USA warranty". I wasn't sure if it was O.K. to post the names of the websites or not. If it is, I would be happy to...
And the name of the store is?.
And the one year USA warranty is the manufacturer's, not a third party warranty?.
Larry Bermanhttp://BermanGraphics.com..
There are a lot of crooks on the internet, but it seems that selling photo equipment attracts more than any other area. Misleading (and lying) advertisement, bait-and-switch, charging extra for factory-included accessories, overcharging for optional accessories, and over-aggressive pushi salesmen are very common..
If a store offers the best price a search engine can find, you can be 99% sure they are crooks..
I've seen phony "store review sites", where a crooked store gets praised by fake customers..
If you're not dealing with a well-known company, it pays to be paranoid..
Mickiej wrote:.
I checked, and both say "new in package with 1 year USA warranty". Iwasn't sure if it was O.K. to post the names of the websites or not.If it is, I would be happy to...
Sounds boggus to me. $788 (body only) at Amazon is the lowest I've seen. Ebay vendors sometimes charge big shipping and handeling fees in order to set the price low perhaps that's what's happening. Also, you might get illegal stuff. Or you might get an empty box. If you try it, you might want to use a credit card that lets you get your money back if things go wrong. However, if it looks too good to be true, it usually is...
Perhaps you could pass along the web site address. That way a bad vendor could be exposed (which is probably the case)...
The two websites are rainbowtronics.com (Sony A100) and fotoconnection.com (E510). I want to save some $ if possible, but I definitely don't want any problems. Thanks for all the help so far!..
YOU BET YOU SHOULD.Foto connection address is a po box #They are selling the camera I just purchasedNikon d 80 for $697.00 no way.Rainbow selling the d80 with a 18-135 lense for $697.00.If you can get for that price let me know.Recommended dealers in NYC B&H,Adorama.Also look on e bay for Cameta cameras,Roberts dist...
Mickiej wrote:.
The two websites are rainbowtronics.com (Sony A100) andfotoconnection.com (E510). I want to save some $ if possible, but Idefinitely don't want any problems. Thanks for all the help so far!.
Check out the ratings and customer reviews:.
Http://www.resellerratings.com/store/RainbowTronics.
Http://www.resellerratings.com/store/InoaX_4.
In short - now it's official. Stay away...
For some reason I can't connect to the resellerratings page, but I assume the ratings are pretty bad. I guess I'll keep looking...
The typical cheapo offer means they don't include standard items, like the battery (!) and connectors. These are standard from the manufacturers and not supposed to be separated..
There are a number of people reporting this problem with both your sellers..
Even a second hand DSLR holds it's value quite well, so extremely low prices are generally warnings, IMO..
If ordering online keep to reliable outfits you know about..
StephenG.
Fuji S9600Fuji S5200Fuji F30Fuji E900Canon A710ISPCLinuxOS..
On a scale of 1 to 10, where the average store scores a 7.4, rainbowtronix scores a 3.5, and fotoconnection scores a 5.6. Neither is scum-of-the-earth bad, but neither one is far from it...
Mickiej wrote:.
For some reason I can't connect to the resellerratings page, but Iassume the ratings are pretty bad. I guess I'll keep looking..
Here's a summary:.
InoaX (a.k.a. FotoConnection, 1stopcamera.com, onestopcamera, Ritebuys, TheNewConnection):Six-Month Rating: 5.63 / 10Six-Month Reviews: 16Lifetime Reviews: 69Lifetime Rating: 2.79 / 10.
Customers complained about "coercive selling tactics", selling factory-included accessories for a separate cost, "bait-and-switch", etc. There are several "hugely satisfied" reviews that look suspicious..
RainbowTronics (aka: USA Photo Nation / RadioActiveDeals):Six-Month Rating: 3.56 / 10Six-Month Reviews: 33Lifetime Reviews: 674Lifetime Rating: 8.15 / 10.
Complaints: Aggressive sales tactics, "bait-and-switch"...
BorisK1 wrote:.
Mickiej wrote:.
For some reason I can't connect to the resellerratings page, but Iassume the ratings are pretty bad. I guess I'll keep looking..
Here's a summary:.
InoaX (a.k.a. FotoConnection, 1stopcamera.com, onestopcamera,Ritebuys, TheNewConnection):Six-Month Rating: 5.63 / 10Six-Month Reviews: 16Lifetime Reviews: 69Lifetime Rating: 2.79 / 10.
Customers complained about "coercive selling tactics", sellingfactory-included accessories for a separate cost, "bait-and-switch",etc. There are several "hugely satisfied" reviews that looksuspicious..
RainbowTronics (aka: USA Photo Nation / RadioActiveDeals):Six-Month Rating: 3.56 / 10Six-Month Reviews: 33Lifetime Reviews: 674Lifetime Rating: 8.15 / 10.
Complaints: Aggressive sales tactics, "bait-and-switch"..
Wow, I saw FotoConnection (ads ) a lot when I was search for camera prices, I didn't know they were so bad. better stick to reputable sites such as amazon ( at least their resellers have ratings ), B&H and adorama..
Just go to B&H and sleep comfortably..
CP8800, D80, 18-135, 70-300VR, SB-600WSSA #83Everything that goes around comes around...
Carnildo wrote:.
On a scale of 1 to 10, where the average store scores a 7.4,rainbowtronix scores a 3.5, and fotoconnection scores a 5.6. Neitheris scum-of-the-earth bad, but neither one is far from it..
Did you see who Rainbow-whatever really is? resellerratings.com says that vendor is really "USA PhotoNation", a.k.a. "RadioActive Deals"..
Dennis Jones wrote:.
Just go to B&H and sleep comfortably..
Good advice. I've ordered there three or four times now. First for Minolta manual-focus equipment, then for a D80 outfit (body, flash, lenses, etc.)..
I've only run into minor glitches. Once, they couldn't find a used item I ordered they immediately gave me a credit. Another time a SanDisk card did not work in a locally-purchased SanDisk reader. That one turned out to be the reader's fault (as far as I know), and I didn't need to use the memory card's RMA #..
They have the best selection of any photo place I've ever seen..
I would definitely order from there again...
I decided to send an email to fotoconnection.com:.
I wrote:Several people I know have avoided buying from FotoConnection afterseeing the Olympus E510 advertised at $429, which is several hundred dollarsless than elsewhere. Can you tell me how you offer such a low price andperhaps restore positive interest in your store..
They replied:.
Hi,.
I believe the confusion is that you are looking at the body for $429 and arecomparing it with the dual lens kit, which is $799 on our website. If youneed more information regarding this product, feel free to call our salesdepartment at 800-457-0889..
I wrote:.
No, this is body only, and I haven't seen such a big difference in price anywhere else. Your price is for the Olympus E-510 is $429 (body only) and Amazon.com (which is the lowest other price I've found) is $877 (body only). My point is that your price is so low it is hard to trust it looks suspicious. Please explain how you can offer this at such a low price.
Hi,.
I forwarded the information to the purchasing department, and they have let me know that they made a mistake when entering the price. They mistakenly put it as the price for the SP-550. They have corrected the problem and have put the correct price of $768 on the website. Sorry for any inconveniences and thank you for your help in correcting the situation..
Thank You,.
John, Fotoconnection Webmaster.
I am going to reply again, pointing out that they have refered to the wrong camera, and that their image is not being helped by what seems to be a bait and switch matter...
After some confusion (see previous post) about price and model, I was sent this message..
Hi,.
The purchasing department mistakenly priced the E-510 using the price from the SP-550, which is why it appeared so low. They have now updated the item, and the correct price of $768 shows on the website. There is nothing further that I can do for you, as I am just in charge of problems with the website, but if you would like to speak with one of our customer service or sales associates, feel free to call the 800 number..
Thanks,.
John, Fotoconnection Webmaster.
I then thanked him for his time and effort..
The $768 price for the E510 is still a very good price (better than Amazon), and they may have made an honest mistake. However, I would remain cautions with this site. Their prices are about $50 less than other places on several cameras. Before buying, I'd call them (800-457-0889)...

