round-here.net

Do not buy from bwayphoto. IMPORTANT if you were considering!
So I put in an order for a fujitsu f31fd and canon sd700 IS. The website says they come with all manufacturers accessories, 1 year warranty, and non-refurbished. I'm thinking alright, cool. This is pretty good..

Next day I receive an email saying "Please call this number to verify your order". I call and give the guy my order number. Before getting off the phone he says "I have a couple questions", first one was "do you want to get the upgraded battery for the f31fd?". I'm like no, why would I want that? the battery on that camera lasts several hours". The guy is like "no, it only lasts 35 minutes". So right here I'm thinking "um, this is kind of weird".

He replies, "Chinese". I then say, "Chinese? Where on the website does it say ANYTHING about me buying a Chinese model". He doesn't answer my question and continues to ask me what model I want. I then just end up telling the guy, you know what cancel my order. He then starts talking to me in a VERY rude manner telling me how I will not get a better deal anywhere else online, before I have the opportunity to ask another question he just hangs up..

The entire phone call the guy was cold and mono toned. It was really uncomfortable speaking to him. I then call back to speak with another person to confirm the cancellation on my order and ask about why they were sending chinese WITH NO WARRANTY and junk accessories + a battery that only lasts 35 minutes when on the site it doesnt mention ANY of this. The guy just says... "WELL, now you know". He was even more rude than the first guy.



I read online that the CHINESE MODELS are the ones responsible for instability and quality issues. + the chinese model doesnt even allow you to select an english setting!!!! I told the guy "why would I want that??" These chinese models don't come with the real accessories. 35 minute battery!? and they want 80 dollars for me to add the regular one!! wow..

Here's another site full of complaints: http://forums.digitaltrends.com/showthread.php?t=11081 I'm sure there are hundreds of threads like this all over!.

Luckily, I saved myself and got my order canceled before I got screwed. I hope this helps someone else out there. I'm VERY VERY upset with those crooks at bwayphoto. It should be illegal...

Comments (7)

It appears they also go under many different names and have multiple websites. BE CAREFUL. I'm buying from an Authorized fuji USA dealer now...

Comment #1

LOL WOOOW. I have learned a valuable lesson. Never go for the cheapest deal online and research vendors. Im SO glad I caught them with their lies before they were able to charge me...

Comment #2

An even more valuable lesson for all here who fall for these websites is to ALWAYS checkhttp://www.resellerratings.com before you do anything. These Brooklyn scam shops are all the same MO. ExpressCameras are the one that gets the most attention around here..

Moral of the story - buy local or from a reputable dealer like B&H..

Sonny McBiscuit wrote:.

LOL WOOOW. I have learned a valuable lesson. Never go for thecheapest deal online and research vendors. Im SO glad I caught themwith their lies before they were able to charge me..

'87.6% of all statistics are made up on the spot'.

ShutterBuginhttp://www.exposureproductions.smugmug.com.

Image control:Zoom outZoom 100%Zoom inExpand AllOpen in new window..

Comment #3

I reported them to the better business bureau... If that even does anything. I just think what they;re doing is evil...

Comment #4

Sonny McBiscuit wrote:.

I reported them to the better business bureau... If that even doesanything. I just think what they;re doing is evil..

They've been around for years, under a variety of names. They had much better luck back in the pre-internet days when you had to mail order your gear....they've been shut down a few times but always resurface under a different name, pulling the same gray market scams and bait and switch schemes..

For a real education, take a look at this page......

Http://donwiss.com/pictures/BrooklynStores/.

This kind of tells all about many of those types of camera "stores".

JohnPentax *ist-D, K100D, Fuji F20/31fd, Oly Stylushttp://www.pbase.com/jglover..

Comment #5

BTW, Broadway is the same as A&M Photo, so you can see their storefornt under the posting for A&M photo.......

JohnPentax *ist-D, K100D, Fuji F20/31fd, Oly Stylushttp://www.pbase.com/jglover..

Comment #6

I agree, I had the same bad experience in trying to buy a camera through them. Total rip off if you ask me. Stay awy!..

Comment #7


This question was taken from a support group/message board and re-posted here so others can learn from it.

 

Categories: Home | Beginners Group | Canon Cameras | Casio Cameras |

Fuji Cameras | Beginner Questions | Camera Tips | Buying a Camera |

Camera Shopping Tips | Camera Recommendations |

 

(C) Copyright 2010 All rights reserved.